Welcome to My Kitchen Adventure

I love food…..I love to cook it. I love to eat it. I love to talk about it. What more can i say? Well read on and find out.

Food has often been the center of many a family gathering and celebration in my family. As well as in everyday life. Cooking was an important part of our every day life. Of coarse I was often right in the middle of all the action as well. I would be happy no where else.

As a child Growing up in Rural Kentucky, I was always reading my moms and grandmothers cookbooks and recipes. I had a thirst for all that was food. Always wondering how to make this or why this was made like that. Cook books became my comic books. They where a way to travel the world without leaving the farm. Through my reading and experiences I became more interested in the relationship between food and culture. I hungered to learn more and often would spend hours at a time at the library. To this day the food ways of my home in the south are some of my favorite subjects to discuss. The memory of those foods are still strong. A tangy Pimento cheese sandwich on a hot summers day working in the tobacco field is still a vivid memory. The wonderful pies and homemade breads that my grandmother used to bake. My moms fried chicken and Rosemary cream gravy and my dads experiments in the kitchen. (But that would be another blog all together….lol)

These days I am a Chef living in Portland, Oregon. My culinary roots are in the fine foods of the south but my tastes very as wide as Savory Chinese and Thai foods to properly made biscuits, corn bread and Barbecue. From crusty rustic breads and artisan pizzas that I now enjoy out here. To that special recipe for spaghetti and meatballs that I learned to make from my grandma as a child.

I hope that through this blog I will be able to further explore and share my passion for the many foods and foodways that this world has to offer. I hope that others will find what I put here of some interest and of use. I welcome your comments on what I put here. This blog will change with time as this is my first attempt at blogging and it is a work in progress. Welcome to my kitchen adventure.

About wileychef

Robert is a Kentucky native, raised on a farm in the middle of tobacco country. He first started cooking with his grandmother at a young age. This was the beginning of a life long passion for food and cooking. He later studied culinary arts at The National Center for Hospitality Studies at Sullivan University. Robert now lives and works as a chef in Portland OR.
This entry was posted in My Welcome. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Welcome to My Kitchen Adventure

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

