My “kinda Famous” Herb Biscuts

Many years back when I still lived in Kentucky. I use to make these herb biscuits on a regular basis. They where a favorite of family and friends. They where especially favored buy my boss and his wife. They ran a small mom and pop style family bakery. They would turn out some of the best southern style deserts on earth. They would always ask me to bring more of those “Herb Biscuits” into work. Always saying, that I should go in to business selling them.  The irony in this was that I was a baker working in there bakery. Well it has been a long time since I worked there but i often remember them as part of my family. Because that is how they treated me and everyone else that worked there. So Mike and Gina, AKA( mama number two)… this recipe is for you.

My “Kinda Famous” Herb Biscuits

2 c. self-rise flour (my favorite is White Lilly if you can get it)

1 tsp. sugar

1/4 tsp. salt

1/8 tsp. black pepper

1/2 tsp. dried thyme

1/4 tsp. garlic powder

1/4 tsp.  dried rosemary, ground fine

3 ea. green onions, chopped fine.

small bunch of fresh parsley,chopped fine

  • Combine above ingredients well.

1/4 c. shortening (lard is the best but vegi shortening works well)

  • Cut shortening in to dry ingredients.

about 2/3 -3/4  c. butter milk

tt.  Tabasco sauce (I used just enough to add flavor and jest a hint of spice)

  • Add the Tabasco sauce to the buttermilk and combine with the flour mixture til it jest barely holds together in a moist shabby dough ball. Remove from bowl, place on a floured counter top and slightly work dough til it holds together.
  • Press or role out to about a 1/2 in. thick and cut out into 1 1/2 in. rounds.
  • Place in baking pan with edges almost touching and brush the tops with milk or melted butter.
  • Bake at 500 degrees for about 8 to 10 min.
About wileychef

Robert is a Kentucky native, raised on a farm in the middle of tobacco country. He first started cooking with his grandmother at a young age. This was the beginning of a life long passion for food and cooking. He later studied culinary arts at The National Center for Hospitality Studies at Sullivan University. Robert now lives and works as a chef in Portland OR.
This entry was posted in my family's favorite recipes, southern food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My “kinda Famous” Herb Biscuts

  1. limeandlemon says:

    sounds real delicious .. Laila .. http://limeandlemon.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

